Editor in Chief: Kendall Francis

Assistant Editors: Shaelee Fly-Schultz, Michelle Gutierrez

Photo Editors: Jacob Witt, Ke’yon Stokes, Ripley Brown

Multimedia journalists: 

Kane Adon, Alison Ashley, Lilly Berretta, Aryanna Bertrand, Honestie Bradford, Janiah Bogan, Ripley Brown, Nahshon Cooper, Keegan Cunningham, Jaxson DeSalvo, Tyshawn Europe, Shaelee Fly-Schultz, Kendall Francis, Zhandria Gibson, Michelle Gutierrez, Savian Guzman, Halina Hak, Isabella Harris, De’nasia Johnson, Jesiah Jones, Juan Jones, Montaz Jones, Jane Keen, Vy Luong, James Lynch, Markel Mcduffie, Audrey O’neill, Ganila Owens, Bella Powers, Myalyn Pompey, Layla Purcell, Gloria Privis, Lilianna Randolph, Markhi’ya Roberson, Leonora Serrano, Alexandra Smith, Wallace Smith, Ke’yon Stokes, Ke’yono Stokes, Ryan Thornley, Leo Villavicencio, Jacob Witt, Zakilya Zeigler 

The aim of the J. Hop Times is to fairly and honestly report the news, and to provide a forum for students, faculty and staff.

Here’s how you can be heard:

Write a column, letter or draw a comic. We reserve the right to correct any factual or grammatical mistakes. Sign your work and bring it to our newsroom in Building 5-113. Please note there is no guarantee your work will be published. 

Multimedia journalism teachers: Andres Faza, Marcus Grayson, Joseph Malik Parler

Newspaper designer: 

Journeys in Journalism Coordinator: Crystal L. Pruitt

Journeys in Journalism Advisory Committee Chair: Gretchen Letterman

 Journeys in Journalism Advisory Committee Members: (year) = year joined

Goliath Davis, community volunteer (2003), Carlmon Jones, principal, John Hopkins Middle (2019), Cranston Cumberbatch, actor and film producer (2018), Donnika Jones, principal, Melrose Elementary (2017), Bozell Hosey, photographer director, Tampa Bay Times (2019), Demorris Lee, communications coordinator, office of strategic communications, Pinellas County Schools (2017), Mariana Leslie, apprenticeships and work-based learning specialist, Pinellas Co. Schools (2017), Kimberly Vongsyprasom, assistant principal and magnet coordinator, John Hopkins Middle (2019), Kevin Mort, retired nursing home administrator, Mort Scholarship Committee chair (2015), Tara Newsom, Dept. of Social and Behavioral Sciences, St. Petersburg College (2016), Shrimatee Ojah-Maharaj, grants administrator, city of St. Petersburg (2012), Steve Plummer, Business & Information Technology, Marketing & Diversified Education, Pinellas County Schools (2012), Crystal L. Pruitt, Journeys in Journalism program coordinator (2018), Ronald K. Porter, director of service learning, Eckerd College (2016), Erin Savage, principal, Lakewood High (2015), Joseph J. Serra III, assistant principal, Lakewood High (2020), Terri Lipsey Scott, director, Dr. Carter G. Woodson African American History Museum (2016), Jane Thompson, GIS manager, Water Resources (2020), Monte Trammer, retired newspaper publisher, Pinellas Education Foundation Career Education Board (2018), Ellen Truskowski, director of student demographic assignment & school capacity, Pinellas County Schools (2017), Wendy Wallace, director of advancement, Poynter Institute (2012)

The J. Hop Times, winner of the 2012-13 and 2014-15 Newspaper Pacemaker Award from the National Scholastic Press Association, is produced three times a year by students at John Hopkins Middle School. 


Activate Search